Ryan’s Birth Story!

Ryan will be two years old this September, wow time flies!

Here is his birth story: better late than never!

 

Proverbs 3:4-6

English Standard Version (ESV)

So you will find favor and good success[a]
    in the sight of God and man.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
    and do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge him,
    and he will make straight your paths.

Isaiah 55:9
For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.
…….

Verse of the day: Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show it by his good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom.”- James 3:13 on 9/16/10

 

Ryan expected due date was Monday September 13th, his Great Grandma Kathy’s birthday to be exact! However he didn’t want to come then.

I had my last midwife appointment that day, it went well. I then informed her I had a strong feeling that Ryan was going to be born this Thursday 9/16/10. So she said alright, call me then and I will come over and you can have your baby at home.

So Wednesday rolls around..the day was filled with fun. Michael and I went to the Hands on Children’s Museum with my friend Marcie and her girl Sammy. Then we did our daily time of naps, snacks then later dinner. I called my friend Julie at 5 and asked her if after we had Bible study if Michael could come over and spend the night because Ryan was coming tonight.

Image

We went to church..all during the while I’m having contractions and David is trying to time them and focus at the same time. We then around 8:30pm dropped Michael off and headed home. At 9 we called the Midwife Carolee – with Around the Circle Midwifery – here in Olympia, WA. (Whom I highly recommend if you are local!) She said call back when they get more intense.

I took a walk on the treadmill, bounced on a ball..and waited. We called her at 11:30pm and she came over..to break my water..not the best feeling. 4cm and then right after she broke the water I jumped to 6cm and active labor.ImageImage

By this time it was 1am. After she broke my water I went into active labor..I threw up twice..that’s like having 10 contractions at once..speeds up the process! This was the most challenging part of the delivery process, so intense and there’s no escape, expect to stay calm and let your body naturally relax and allow yourself to dilate so the baby can come out. And it’s super challenging because your body gets super warm/hot during the contraction, then it automatically cools down and you start shivering.

Image

The good part is it didn’t last forever~! By 3:07 am I was in the back bedroom pushing…..pushing..and pushing…and out came Little Ryan Jason Knight~!

9.2 lbs, 3:38 am, 20 ¾ inches, head 14 1/8 inch around, fuzzy buns! Grayish brown eyes

After that I was exhausted, I didn’t feel like nursing and my stomach just hurt, we stayed up for 3 hours. I took a shower ate and then we all passed out till maybe 10, when Marcie came over and made us pulled chicken in our crock pot, so good!  Then Julie came over later with Michael.  Then Grandma Kathy came over. And five days after his birth my mom and Aunt Rosie came from the East Coast and helped for a week, it was wonderful!

Image

………….

A couple random things about his birth 9/16/10

–          First breathe 40 seconds after he was born, great cord.

–          Great nurser

–          It’s over! And just beginning

–          Happened quickly

–          David cut the cord

–          Born on the floor!

–          Threw up twice…worth 20 contractions!

–          Ate a twix bar, so worth all the hard work!

–          Then a bagel

–          I wasn’t mean! J

 

 

 

 

 Image

Leave a comment